Tripura Elections: BJP fields Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik from Dhanpur

Tripura Elections: BJP fields Union Minister Pratima Bhoumik from Dhanpur

Agartala/Kolkata: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced the list of 48 candidates out of 60 seats in the poll-bound Tripura. The Tripura Assembly Election is scheduled to take place on February 16.

Party leaders Anil Baluni and Sambit Patra announced the BJP’s candidates for the Tripura Polls at a press conference at the party headquarters.

BJP surprised political experts by fielding Pratima Bhoumik from Tripura, who will contest the upcoming state election from Dhanpur seat on February 16.

Bhoumik is the Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment in the BJP-led government at the Centre. She is an MP from Tripura. She worked hard to build the organization in the state.

In 2021 Pratima Bhoumik scripted history by becoming the first politician from Tripura to be made a central minister. She was appointed as the new Minister of State (MoS) in the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.

First-time MP Bhoumik, who is popularly known as ‘Pratima Di’, was elected from the West Tripura constituency in the last general elections in 2019.

Bhoumik has always maintained a low profile despite being an active politician for long. Bhoumik’s rise up the ranks to the Centre is a story of humble beginnings.

Taking to twitter, Pratima Bhoumik wrote, “We will definitely win. I extend my heartfelt gratitude to Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi Ji, National President Shri JP Nadda Ji and Hon’ble Home Minister Shri Amit Shah Ji for nominating me as a BJP candidate from Dhanpur Assembly Constituency.”

In the last assembly polls in 2018, the BJP for the first time formed a government in Tripura, which was considered as the left bastion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *