Bihar Elections: Woman power helped NDA win against Mahagathbandhan

Bihar Elections: Woman power helped NDA win against Mahagathbandhan

Patna: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has registered victory in Bihar Elections, while Rashtriya Janata Dal emerged as single largest party with victory in 75 seats.

The NDA registered victory in 125 seats, with BJP winning 74 seats and Janata Dal (United) securing victory in 43 seats.

Experts say that the Exit Polls failed to realize the turnout of women voters this year. It was the women voters who became the decisive factor in the close contest between the NDA and the Mahagathbandhan. Large turnout of women helped the NDA win the Bihar elections. As per the voters’ turnout, the NDA performed better in the second and third phase where the women turnout was higher.

While the Mahagathbandhan was happy after the Exit Polls, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was confident about those seats where women came out in large and voted in favour of the NDA. It appears that the women votes were not divided and helped the NDA.

Apart from the security of the women, Central Government’s schemes such as Ujjawala and Swacch Bharat proved to be a decisive factor and led to the high turn of women at the polling booths. PM during the campaign had listed out several schemes including providing electricity, tap water and welfare measures launched in the wake of the pandemic.

Narendra Modi also spoke about free provision of ration and cash transfer into the Jan Dhan scheme during his rallies. Earlier PM had announced that free food-grain scheme would continue until Chhath which is the biggest festival in Bihar.

RJD was leading the Mahagathbandhan (united opposition), and the Congress could register victory in only 19 seats but Tejashwi Yadav, who was the face of RJD, could not root out the NDA from Bihar because of poor performance by the Congress.

On the other hand, the Lok Janshakti Party, which had broken away from NDA in Bihar and had contested in 137 seats, could register victory in only one seat. Left parties, which were part of the Mahagathbandhan, won 12 seats, while the CPI and CPI (M) got two seats each. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM surprised everyone by winning five seats while BSP got one seat.

BJP also secured victory on most of the by-poll seats in state like Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Gujarat and Telangana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *