Lexus India announces the winners of the 5th edition of Lexus Design Award India

Lexus India announces the winners of the 5th edition of Lexus Design Award India

Kolkata: Lexus India announced the winners of the 5th edition of India’s prestigious design awards – Lexus Design Award India (LDAI), selected from among over 650 high-quality entries basis Lexus’ three key design principles: Anticipate, Innovate and Captivate in the pursuit to craft a better tomorrow.

Continuing with the theme of last year and the impact of the pandemic, this year also the awards were hosted virtually.

Lexus innovated to create this virtual edition of the awards with the support of the Association of Designers of India (ADI) as part of the process that nurtures the next generation of creative talent.

Naveen Soni, President of Lexus India, said, “This year’s LDAI marks its successful 5th year and 2nd in the virtual platform. This year, we are proud to have received over 650 entries that are all potential solutions for the Indian society that will help to craft a better tomorrow.”

The diverse panel of judges this year comprised of Nishma Pandit – Co-founder of Ticket Design, a multidisciplinary design consulting firm, Anand Belhe – Dean, Faculty of Design, CEPT University, Ahmedabad India, David Nordstrom–Former Vice President, Lexus Asia Pacific Division, Anuj Sharma – renowned Fashion designer, Anjali Mody – Serial entrepreneur and Mukul Goyal – Designer under the label Tattva and Mukul Goyal.

The panel of mentors included Michael Foley- founder of Foley Designs, Sandeep Sangaru – designer and entrepreneur at Sangaru Design Objects, Amit Krishn Gulati – Industrial designer and entrepreneur, Suhasini Paul – Toy designer and co-founder of Paul Studio, Narendra Ghate – Chief Designer at Tata Elxsi, Vinay Rao – Design entrepreneur and co-founded Bang Design, Unmesh Kulkarni – founder, Oceanic circles, Pradeep Chowdhary – Award-winning designer and engineer.

This year, the LDAI mentorship program for the conceptual category finalists was also conducted virtually where a stellar ensemble of creative pioneers and industry stalwarts helped the finalists refine their projects. The winners were chosen after multiple rounds of an extensive deliberation by the esteemed panel of jurors.

The coveted trophy presented to the winners of LDAI 2022 was designed by renowned designer, Michael Foley. The design features layers emanating from an arc reminiscent of the Lexus ‘L’-motif.

The LDAI 2022 was a confluence of amazing designers from across the country, coming together for this prestigious award.

This year LDAI also ventured into a new space of design by engaging with visitors through a unique NFT (Non-Fungible Tokens) of the Lexus LF-Z concept vehicle, minted on, an NFT marketplace on Tezos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *